

**INTERNATIONAL PLATFORM ASSOCIATION** (Founded by Daniel Webster & Josiah Holbrook in 1831 as The American Lyceum Association) 2564 Berkshire Road, Cleveland Heights, Ohio 44106



Director General and Board Chairman

President and Membership Chairman LOWELL THOMAS

Vice-President GLENN SEABORG

Vice-President EILEEN HALL

Chaplain REV. EDWARD L.R. ELSON, S.T.D. (Chaplain of the U.S. Senate) October 20, 1980

Vice-President VICTOR BORGE Vice-President ART LINKLETTER Vice-President

EDNA SINCLAIR

DAN TYLER MOORE

Please accept this certificate and our appreciation for your attendance at our 1980 IPA Convention and especially the Seminars.

Congratulations to you and approximately 170 others who participated in two or three sessions of the 1980 IPA Programmers and Speakers Seminars. We have checked the evaluation sheets and find the highest ratings yet for those held this year. We also had several suggestions for future years and several comments on how to make these meetings even better. At least fifteen evaluations were turned in without signatures, so we hope we have included all who attended the meetings. It appears that approximately 250 people attended at least one session.

There seems to be an overwhelming consensus that the 1980 IPA convention will join other great ones of the past as one of the best ever. Attendance was up 20% this year and our speakers surely were top quality. We are all looking forward to putting IPA Convention 1981 on our calendar. The question seems to be: How can we top this last one? However, it seems Dan Moore and his team continue to come up with new ideas and yet keep with traditions of the past, which makes for a grand combination and for a great week in an exciting place in America.

As for the future of the Seminars, as long as we keep getting high ratings surely they will continue. As you will note in TALENT Magazine and in the occasional letters from IPA, they really want to hear from you and welcome your suggestions for seminars or any other programs to add to future conventions. It is anticipated that a Seminar-Workshop Advisory Committee will be formed to plan these sessions from year to year and to develop more continuity. They will also react to the many suggestions that are turned into IPA and select the ideas that will contribute most to the convention.

Some ideas for future years include --- Listening Skills, How to Use Humor in Speeches, Problem Solving Techniques, Communication Skills, What is IPA, and Speech Writing and Publishing. Many people say we should continue at least one session in Parliamentary Horse Sense each year. The Mini-Showcase was the highest rated session this year and will probably have a repeat performance. We would appreciate hearing from you and how you rate these ideas. What other suggestions do you have?

Again, we say thank you for attending our Seminar and for your very kind comments. We really welcome your candid suggestions at any time, especially those you can offer for next year. We wish you much success in the future and hope we will see you at IPA in Washington again next year.

Most sincerely yours,

Dob Liman

Bob Leiman Coordinator, IPA Seminars

BL:kas enclosure

## OFFICERS

Director General and Board Chairman .	Dan Tyler Moore
President	Lowell Thomas
First Vice President	Dr. Glenn Seaborg
Second Vice President	Eileen M. Hall
Third Vice President	Victor Borge
Fourth Vice President	Art Linkletter
Fifth Vice President	Edna Sinclair
Treasurer	Anna Blair Miller
Secretary	Luvie Owens

## CHAPLAIN

The Rev. Edward L. R. Elson, S.T.D. (Chaplain of the U.S. Senate)

## BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Dr. Glenn Seaborg Lowell Thomas E. Mandell de Windt Ambassador Enrique Tejera-Paris Jack Anderson General Albert Kuhfeld Sir William Moore Hal Holbrook Congressman Charles A. Vanik Victor Borge Art Linkletter George Crile III James Kilpatrick **Everette Peterson** Dr. Joan R. Humphries

Archibald Roosevelt, Jr. Rudy Vallee Drew Hall Mrs. Drew Pearson William McVey Dan Tyler Moore, Jr. Rosa Lobe Lou LuTour Charles P. Taft Dr. Cleo Dawson **Eleanor Sikes Peters** Mrs. Lloyd Owens Henri St. Laurent Bruce Brazo

Rev. Edward L.R. Elson Robert Leiman John Henry Faulk Elizabeth Moore Eileen Hall Andre Pacatte Ralph Frost Dan T. Moore III Anna Blair Miller **Richard Morrison** Mildred Deutsch Tim Letchworth **Ben Franklin** Jean Schaeffer

James Stahl William Stolpin Helen Picard Anna Frances Houston Paul Leonard Cordella Treece Margaret Scott Kincannon Jeane Dixon Herbert A. Greenwald Shirley Duncan Naomi Armstrong Harry Weber

President Theodore Roosevelt, Lowell Thomas, Mark Twain, Eric Sevareid, President Jack Kennedy, Secretary Henry Kissinger, President Dwight Eisenhower, Jack Anderson, President Franklin D. Roosevelt, Gen. Alexander Haig, Carl Sandburg, Alice Roosevelt Longworth, John Wayne, Barbara Walters, Dr. Charles Mayo, Bob Hope, Sen. Robert Taft, Secretary Dean Rusk, Eliot Ness, Harry Reasoner, Gov. Nelson Rockefeller, President Geruld Ford, Drew Pearson, James Kilpatrick, President <text> William Howard Taft, Secretary William E. Simon, President Harry Truman, "Dear" Abby Van Buren, President Woodrow Wilson, Watergate Prosecutor Leon Jaworski, William President Woodrow Wilson, Watergate Prosecutor Leon Jaworski,

## SOME OF THE WINNERS OF IPA SILVER BOWL AWARDS

Lowell Thomas John F. Kennedy Richard M. Nixon Lyndon B. Johnson Ralph Nader Bob Hope Erma Bombeck Eric Sevareid Howard K. Smith Art Buchwald **Fletcher Byrom Barbara** Walters

Earl Warren Lawrence Spivak Admiral Rickover Dr. Glenn Seaborg Drew Pearson Jack Anderson Jean Shepherd Norman Lear James Schlesinger Charles E. Spahr Hal Holbrook Dan T. Moore

Henry Kissinger

Victor Borge Mayor Thomas Bradley Ambassador Arthur Goldberg Leon Jaworski Kenneth H. Coop Winston Churchill, M.P. Rod McKuen Joseph A. Califano, Jr. William Proxmire William Safire Harry Reasoner Howard Jarvis

Art Linkletter

William E. Simon Justin Dart Seymour M. Hersh Arthur B. Laffer Gen, Alexander Haig Dr. Horace E. Dobbs Malcolm S. Forbes Isaac Asimov Sen, Jesse A. Helms James Lehrer Abby Van Buren Danny Kaye

Senator Robt. C. Byrd Harry Blackstone, Jr. Walter A. Sullivan, Jr. Mark Russell John Clardi Juanita Kreps Frank Reynolds Ann Landers Reed Larson